A creature called MIL

mom in law cartoon

Can we divorce our MIL? Is there any such Indian penal code?

Nothing but karma can justify the presence of a mom-in-law in our lives. No matter how hard I try to make peace with her, I end up disturbing my mental peace by some of her crooked acts. Let’s find out how I intend to deal with it…

I should be thankful to my MIL above all because she is the reason why I started this blog. When her daughter was not treated well by her neighbour and I was; she showered me with her bitter feelings for her neighbour as if it’s my fault. I realised how unfair life is (how karma evolves) that day. It was my pain that inspired me to start this blog so that I can let my feelings flow in a healing way. Writing has always healed me. Always…

This time, she made sure that I remain present in the kitchen, though there was nothing crucial to do. She did this for reasons best known to her (and my karmas). What I realised was that this was a deliberate act and that had she had a natural love for me, she would never do it. Or maybe this is her nature.

This small incident along with my husband’s somewhat rash replies and MIL’s poking-her-nose-into-everything behaviour hurt me deeply a few days ago. I remained silent as I had decided to. It inspired me to have the most creative thought of all time; seeking a divorce from her. Well well…in my dreams only.

Poor lady! She is destined to have a straight-forward DIL like me. She is finding it hard to digest me. I’m too raw. Unfortunate as she is, she will never get to enjoy my friendship as long as she would keep all those layers of formalities between us. Her loss. Not mine. I have nothing to do with such a devious person.

But the question is, what should I do until my dream come true? Or until I stop dreaming? I need to implement those too-good-to-be-true subhashitas (wise sayings) in my actions.

घृष्टं घृष्टं पुनरपि पुनश्चन्दनं चारुगन्धम्

छिन्नं छिन्नं पुनरपि पुनः स्वादु चैवेक्षुकाण्डम् |

दग्धं दग्धं पुनरपि पुनः काञ्चनं कान्तवर्णम्

प्राणान्तेऽपि प्रकृतिविकृतिर्जायते नोत्तमानाम् ||

I must not let her deeds affect my nature. I must not take any hasty decisions. I must let the time unfold itself. I also must let the best healer do his job.

And yes, MIL is not a bitch, my karmas are…thought it will take a while to merge the two thoughts in my mind.

p.s. – My special thanks to my best buddy A, who is also sailing in the same ship, for giving my creative thoughts an ear. Love you babe!

Leave a comment